RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Web Drifter

I just finished watching the newest Revision3 produced show and I am pretty excited with its concept.

The show: Web Drifter

The Premise: Martin Sargent visits all the craziest places and people he’s found over the years on the internet.

The Host of Web Drifter

Watch and enjoy

Dany

October 11, 2007 6:21 pm Posted by | podcasts, technology | Leave a comment

Jury Duty Day 1

I am now back from day #1 of jury duty in lower Manhattan. This is the second time I’ve been called for jury service since I turned 18. My entire day revolved around sitting in a giant room all day, doing NOTHING. It turned out that there were no cases they needed jurors for, so we all just sat in chairs with nothing to do.

There were no high powered lawyers anywhere in sight, no courthouse shootings, Law & Order style. There was an old fat guy who seemed a bit out of it though, but it turned out not to be Fred Thompson. Oh, but I did get yelled at by a security guard for moving a chair 6 inches! That was fun.

I was DEFINITELY glad to have an ipod with me, otherwise I might have had to do something drastic, like READ! Horrors…

I need to go back downtown again tomorrow morning for Day #2, I don’t want to make it onto a jury, but it would be nice if SOMETHING happened. Maybe, at the least, someone interesting to talk to.

Dany

October 11, 2007 5:32 pm Posted by | New York, notes, NYC, politics, tv | 1 Comment

Comedy Central Stand-Up

Apparently, Comedy Central recently held an amateur comedian contest called Open Mic Fight and the winner was Mo Mandel. The only reason I know about this is from the Comedy Central Stand-Up video podcast (get it through iTunes here).

In celebration of Mo Mandel’s win, I’ve also posted his 6+ minute routine. Let this be inspiration for all of you Open Mic hopefuls (you know who you are).

Enjoy

Dany

October 11, 2007 3:44 pm Posted by | clips, comedians, podcasts, technology, tv | 1 Comment

Energy Bucket of DOOOOOOM!

Geekologie goes out of their way in this post to bring us more useless (yet cool) technology news. Stefano Merlo, the creator with the worst website imaginable (so bad, that I won’t even give you the link), has created a bucket with solar panels and LED lights.

With this bucket, you can leave it out in the sun during the day and then, once the sun goes down, the bucket glows. The idea is very cool… I just don’t know why you would want a glowing bucket at night. Do you want to bring a bucket with them late at night yet want to leave your flashlight at home? Do you want to be the creepy guy carrying a glowing bucket with you while you’re in the woods/park/beach late at night? Does anyone have a better idea?

Enjoy the doom bucket! That’s an order.

Dany

October 11, 2007 3:29 pm Posted by | technology, vaporware | Leave a comment

Useless Gadget Hour

If you thought the macbook pro was an expensive laptop at $1,999.00, I don’t even want to think about what the price would be after having the thing covered in 24k gold and diamonds in the Apple logo. The people over at Computer Choppers are offering this service in case you want to turn your portable laptop into something you should be afraid to bring with you when you leave the house for fear (even more than with a regular laptop) that it won’t make it back home with you.

Thanks to Geekologie for their post.

Dany

October 11, 2007 2:27 pm Posted by | technology, vaporware | Leave a comment

More SNL Goodness

I would post something from the latest episode of SNL, but I heard from a solid source (thanks Denise) that the show was a disappointment, so instead, I’ll go for an older clip, watch Sofa King

Dany

October 11, 2007 2:15 pm Posted by | clips, comedians, tv | Leave a comment