RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Love and Other Drugs Movie Review

I was finally able to go and see the movie Love & Other Drugs yesterday. I had been wanting to see the movie since before it came out, I have liked Anne Hathaway ever since Ella Enchanted. I also have been following Jake Gyllenhaal ever since Donnie Darko. Even though I have wanted to see the movie for such a long time, I kept as far away from the advertisements and previews as well and I am glad I was able to do that.

This movie was not at all what I expected, with the title, I expected a love affair mixed with an elicit drug parade, but the film was nothing of the sort. I will not reveal the storyline, but it was done very well and it was unexpectedly quite funny for a serious love story, especially with Josh Gad and Oliver Platt providing some great asides. This is extremely difficult for a film to pull off, but the director, Edward Zwick, does a great job from scene to scene balancing serious scenes with comic relief. I also heard that some people had criticized Hathaway for how she portrayed her character (for storyline reasons, I will not reveal why), but I felt that she did a wonderful job with this role.

I would highly recommend this film, unless you have a problem with seeing quite a bit of nudity from many of the main players. Both myself and the girl I saw the film with had a great time with this film, go see it.

Just as an aside, I am glad that this is a fictional story, otherwise the main catalysts that set this movie in motion would have been a giant HIPAA violations on the part of one of the receptionists (Judy Greer) as well as for the main doctor (Hank Azaria) in the film.

Thanks to April Hubal Photography for the above pic.

Enjoy

Dany

January 8, 2011 11:59 pm - Posted by | movie reviews, movies

2 Comments »

  1. hellllllllppppppp pllllllleaseeee

    Comment by renos | January 9, 2011 9:04 am

  2. What do you need help with?

    Comment by master1228 | January 9, 2011 12:23 pm


Leave a Reply

