RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

The Dark Knight Review

The Dark Knight is probably the longest (over two and a half hours), most violent, shocking, enthralling, fun and disturbing superhero movie I have probably ever seen. I had a wonderful time, but I was let down when I couldn’t get in to see the IMAX screening of the film, but I couldn’t wait any longer to see this film. I will definitely be going back next week to try and see it in IMAX and then buy the dvd.

A lot of people are talking about Heath Ledger‘s performance as The Joker and part of the reason that it has been so hard to get tickets for this film is because he died before the film was released, but I must say, he TAKES OVER in a way that only Jack Nicholson would be proud of.

I really can’t review this film, but it does show what a superhero movie could be and that our current efforts in CGI are so realistic that it is almost impossible to tell that we are being fooled by an effect. I am not going to give anything away, except to say that I don’t believe any young children should see this film, it is both too long and also the most violent and disturbing PG-13 ever, but even though I’m intimately familiar with the Batman comics, I believe in Harvey Dent and it was inspiring to see that Gotham did as well.

Thanks to The Telegram for the above pic.

Dany

*8-29-2008 Update* – I finally got in to see The Dark Knight in IMAX and it was totally worth the wait, but the only oddity I noticed this time around was that Gotham’s Mayor (Nestor Carbonell) wore eyeliner, I later found out through the great imdb, that this was to give the role a more Frank Miller comic feel.

July 23, 2008 11:45 pm - Posted by | crazy celebs, dvd, movie reviews, movies, technology

3 Comments »

  1. Indeed, it was a very good movie. I see you mention CGI though, thought I’d let you know the reason this one fooled you so well is because Christopher Nolan used very little CGI. He opted for real-life stunts/effects wherever possible.

    Comment by scorch07 | July 30, 2008 6:35 pm

  2. I understood that going into the film, but I was mainly referring to the CGI used to create the scarred face of Harvey Dent’s Two-Face character.

    Comment by master1228 | July 30, 2008 7:25 pm

  3. […] definately recommend that this movie be skipped, go back and watch The Dark Knight again, you’ll have a much better […]

    Pingback by Swing Vote Review « RaaD Technology, Movies & News | August 31, 2008 6:26 pm


Leave a Reply

