RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Deleting Items from iTunes Smart Playlists

I download a LOT of podcasts daily (I currnently have 10 solid days of audio waiting for me to listen to and growing) and keep only a small percentage of them. I have so many, that the only way I can manage them and keeping sane is using the EXTREMELY useful iTunes smart playlist feature.

The only problem with this system was that I could not delete the smart playlist items I had already listened to directly from the smart playlist menu, I would still have to sift through iTunesPodcast section and individually delete all the old podcasts

I’ve FINALLY found a solution, all you need to do to fix this is to select all the smart playlist items that you want to delete and while holding the SHIFT button, hit DELETE. This brings up the regular iTunes deltetion dialog box and presto! Problem solved. This also works from any iTunes playlist, smart or otherwise by the way.

Now, I use Windows, so I don’t know if this fix works for Mac users, but if you run a Mac and have this problems, try this fix and let me know in the comments below.

Thanks to PhilMug.com for the above pic.

Dany

**UPDATE** AlisterComputeron commented that on a Mac, all you need to do is Option+Delete to get the same result.

**9/12/2008** It looks like with iTunes 8.0, Apple changed the shortcut, now Shift+Delete will just remove a playlist item from iTunes, but to delete an item from the computer, the new shortcut is Ctrl+Shift+Delete. This is an annoying change, but there’s not a whole lot we can do about it.

July 17, 2008 9:55 pm - Posted by | podcasts, software, technology, Windows

6 Comments »

  1. On a Mac, you press the Option key and the Delete key.

    Comment by AlisterComputeron | July 18, 2008 8:43 pm

  2. I know this post is really old, but it helped me just now, so thank you!

    Comment by Pyrofallout | July 21, 2010 9:13 pm

  3. thank you sooo much 4 this post!

    Comment by me | August 31, 2010 11:16 pm

  4. I’m a podcast junky in my 60s. What is a simple response from some can make life soooo much easier for those of us treading water.

    Thank you so much!

    Comment by pat | September 10, 2010 9:08 am

  5. I think you stop treading water once you’ve spent enough hours of experience in constant repetition doing this. Less time is needed the more familiar you are (the longer you’ve been working with) each technology. If you grew up learning on computers, then when new technologies come along, it’s easier to catch on than if you didn’t start using computers until adulthood. Now compare that to the youngest generation, where their parents are sharing their smartphones with their infants and how natural it will be for them to use the tech!

    A current theory is once you’ve spent 10,000 hours practicing something, you become a master at it. You don’t need to master something to stop treading water, but the more you work at it, the easier it gets.

    Comment by master1228 | September 10, 2010 9:21 am

  6. Thank you so much!

    You’ve been able to lower my blood pressure by telling me how to do something so simple. Not sure why Apple programmers didn’t enable the delete functionality on the right click or the edit menu.

    Thanks again!
    -King

    Comment by King | January 15, 2011 12:15 pm


Leave a Reply

