RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

WALL-E Review

Before Wall-E came out, I thought the robot was a ripoff of Johnny 5 for kids too young to remember Short Circuit and Short Circuit 2. After seeing the movie though, I can admit that I was wrong… the good thing is that I am not usually this glad to be wrong about something. There were also some great nods to classic science fiction and technology fans, with callbacks to 2001: A Space Oddyssey and the classic Mac startup chime, to just name a couple.

I consider myself a jaded New Yorker and that’s why I was so surprised to be emotionally knocked on my ass for many scenes in this film. I even teared up during some of the scenes between Wall·E and Eve (the slick white robot that resembles ASIMO), which was the most surprising thing for me. I was NOT expecting to be hit so hard by the love story and the ability of Pixar‘s animators to imbue that much emotion into robots that say less than 5 words to one another.

One of the most interesting aspects of the film though was the first 40 or so minutes of the film on Earth, first with WALL·E alone and then with Eve. This was some of the best pantomime since Charlie Chaplain and what really moved me was the interaction between WALL·E and Eve reminded me of Chaplain‘s City Lights. I liked the juxtaposition between Fred Willard‘s live action scenes from the past and the animated humans who are now blubberous blobs of laziness and a shell of their ancestors, played to a tee with voicework from Jeff Garlin John Ratzenberger and Kathy Najimy.

This movie is a definate must see, even the silent animated short with a hungry bunny and an obnoxious magician was entertaining to watch and I know I’m going to be looking for this movie when it is finally released on dvd. Thanks to MoviePatron for the above pic.

Dany

July 6, 2008 3:58 pm - Posted by | apple, cartoons, dvd, movie reviews, movies, New York, NYC, robots, technology, toons

4 Comments »

  1. Wall-E totally looks like the robot from “Short Circuit”… minus the cheesy 80’s style of course

    Comment by patrick | July 17, 2008 12:22 pm

  2. […] reviewing Pixar’s most recent success in Wall-E, it’s only fitting that I present the very first Pixar short titled: The Adventures of Andre […]

    Pingback by Pixar’s First Short Film from 1984: The Adventures of Andre and Wally B « RaaD Technology, Movies & News | July 20, 2008 10:22 pm

  3. Here’s a pretty funny comic on WALL-E: http://2dglasses.com/comics/2008/07/21/lessons_from_wall-e/

    Comment by YellowHat | July 21, 2008 9:29 am

  4. […] feature films, that they have become masters at silent storytelling. The opening 40 minutes of Wall-E were some of the best silent film making I had ever seen and now with Up, the silent montage that […]

    Pingback by Pixar’s Up Review « RaaD Technology, Movies and News | June 15, 2009 10:48 pm


Leave a Reply

