RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Sex and the City – The Movie

There are very few things actually captures the true essence of living in New York City, Woody Allen films come to my mind first and foremost, but HBO‘s Sex and the City also comes to mind. but recently, Woody has been AWOL from NYC, spending his time in Europe and Sex and the City held their series finale in 2004. This has left a gap even with rumors that Woody Allen will return to his NYC roots for his next film, I might just need something to hold me over until 2009.

I was hoping that the Sex and the City movie would be that holdover. I enjoyed the television show, but I can’t say I’m a part of its rabid fan base. So, the advantage for me was that I knew all about these 4 women going into the film…

After watching the movie, I felt that it held pretty true to the television show and would satisfy the film’s built in fan base. It felt like 3 or 4 episodes of the television show back-to-back. After telling the person I saw the movie with this, I realized that this may not be such a good thing after all.

The film didn’t just feel like 3 or 4 episodes of the show, it felt like the film ran long, with these episodes just tacked onto the back of each other, instead of a tight continuously flowing story.

The next realization I had was there was very little setup for the main characters (and why the casual viewer should care about these 4 relatively well off women). Now, for someone like me, who knows these four strong ladies very well from their tv escapades, this was not a problem, but what about for someone who has either never seen the tv show or has only seen a handful of episodes? Well, these people just get a quick (~2min) video recap of the tv series laying out the history of the characters and a voice over by Sarah Jessica Parker to go with it and my guess is that this will leave the uninitiated confused and in the lurch.

Even with these misgivings and the fact that there were times when I felt the film was just a bit long, I DID enjoy the movie, there were a handful of unexpectedly funny moments, Charlotte‘s troubles during international travel being one of them (a point I disagree with my favorite reviewer, Roger Ebert on). I feel like for those people who are NYers, New Yorkophiles or fans of the tv show, you should definitely go out and see this film (especially if you’re planning on pre-gaming with a Cosmo or two), but if you’ve never really seen the show or know the characters, you’d be better off not initiating yourself to this world with this film, just go back and rent/borrow/buy the dvds of the original series.

Thanks to No Guarantee for the above pic.

Enjoy

Dany

June 9, 2008 1:13 am - Posted by | dvd, London, movie reviews, movies, New York, NYC, travel, tv

2 Comments »

  1. i noticed that Sex and the City has a polarizing effect on both men and women… people either love the movie or they hate it

    Comment by patrick | June 18, 2008 8:12 pm

  2. Well, it’s not really all that entertaining unless you already care about these characters, since it pretty much jumps right into the story and if you already care about these characters because you were a fan of the show, there’s a good chance you’re going to enjoy the film.

    Otherwise, you’re not going to care, and not like the film.

    Comment by master1228 | June 18, 2008 8:48 pm


Leave a Reply

