RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

August: Osage County

I just got back from taking my family out to see the new Broadway play August: Osage County and this was one of the most entertaining ways to spend 3 hours. The show started promptly at 7:30pm and ended at a quarter to 11pm after two intermissions.

I don’t want to give too much away about the plot, other than to say that this was a story that deals with a very dysfunctional family brought together after a family tragedy having to deal with long dormant issues.

The play won a Pulitzer prize and the cast does a wonderful job with this masterful script. The only issue I had with the play is that there were moments that were so funny that the laughter in the audience would drown out some of the dialogue (it’s tough when you’re essentially complaining that a show is too funny). I thought this was a great play, I LOVED August: Osage County but for those who are sensitive, the language is quite foul. Any work that can keep me guessing throughout the entire play on what was going to happen next and make me wonder just how this show could end is a definite success in my book. Not to mention that this show has one of the most impressive sets I’ve seen in a recent play, the whole play takes place in and around this family’s 3 level house and watching the cast move up and down all three levels of this house is amazing to see.

I hope some day to see this production move to the silver screen.

Thanks to August on Broadway for the above pic.

Enjoy

Dany

May 22, 2008 11:47 pm - Posted by | theater

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

