RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Iron Man Starts the Summer Movie Season of Blockbusters

Every year the summer brings us blockbuster movies which is like Christmas for the movie studios because these are the movies that tend to bring in LOTS of money for the studios and this year it looks like Christmas came early for the film industry.

First off, let me say, if you love the summer blockbuster, especially if you’re a Marvel fan, just STOP reading this and get your butt to the theater and STAY THROUGH THE END OF THE CREDITS(!!!), you don’t need to read what I have to say other than that this movie will rock your pants off. I can’t tell you how many people walked out of the theater before seeing probably one of the best credit cookies I can remember and sets up the sequel perfectly.

OK, now that the fanboys and people who I KNOW will love this movie no matter what are gone… onto the review:

Robert Downey Jr. gets the prize roll of the film, he plays Tony Stark and gets to essentially have fun drinking, tooling away as a mechanic/builder, womanizing and just flat out have fun for two thirds of the film and I LOVED every minute of it. Jon Favreau directed the film and has a fun cameo as Stark‘s driver/bodyguard and Gwyneth Paltrow plays the spicy Pepper Potts. I couldn’t believe it, I was surprised when I heard that Paltrow was cast in this movie, but after seeing the scenes and banter between her and Downey Jr. it reminded me of one of my favorite on screen relationships: Rosalind Russell and Cary Grant from the hilarious His Girl Friday.

The only real problem with the film was seeing The Dude playing Obadiah Stane and from the very first moment we see him on screen, we know exactly what’s going to happen with this character, now I am not terribly familiar with this character from the comics, but unless Bridges was trying to match the look of the original character, I think this was a bad choice that ultimately hurt the suspense of the film.

I have to say though, this is the superhero origin story that we’ve never gotten before, this film is just a joy to watch. Most times, we need to wade through an origin story (Spider-Man), just to get to the movie we were hoping for (Spider-Man 2). The only other origins story I really enjoyed was one that completely broke the mold for this type of film, Unbreakable from M. Night Shyamalan, which has a secret connection to Iron Man which you’ll only understand if you watch through the end credits.

I also enjoyed some of the little things that Favreau and the writers put into the the film. I grew up with a family that spoke Arabic (a language that I never learned), but watching this film I recognized a lot of very familiar Arabic slang and it was something that I totally wasn’t expecting, not to mention that when I saw that the prisoners in the film passed the time playing backgammon, it made my eyes light up with joy.

Thanks to Georges-Claude Guilbert’s Movie & TV Blog for the above pic.

Enjoy the start of blockbuster movie season!

Dany

May 6, 2008 12:27 am - Posted by | movie reviews, movies

3 Comments »

  1. Iron Man was practically flawless as a super hero flick; its makers drop some pretty obvious sequel hints too… i’m thinking the next one should be equally great

    Comment by patrick | May 6, 2008 5:25 pm

  2. […] after this summer is over, partly because of all the other highly anticipated summer films. Iron Man came out weeks ago and was just a joy to watch and The Dark Night comes out in two weeks (and looks […]

    Pingback by Hancock Review « RaaD Technology, Movies & News | July 6, 2008 2:00 am

  3. […] in a good movie every couple of years, but between his performance here and earlier in Iron Man, he’s having a great […]

    Pingback by Tropic Thunder Review « RaaD Technology, Movies & News | September 3, 2008 10:52 pm


Leave a Reply

