RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Apple Software Update is PISSING ME OFF!!

I thought it was a fluke or just a marketing ploy, but now that it has happened twice, Apple‘s corporate methods are really pissing me off.

I use the Apple Software Update tool on Windows to keep my copies of Quicktime and iTunes up to date. Last week though, Apple tried to push an installation for their Safari v3.0 browser. Now, I use the update tool to keep my current software up to date, not to get advertised new software to download… especially not a 4th web browser! Having Firefox, Internet Explorer and Opera is more than enough for me.

Now, a week later, after NOT downloading Safari 3.o, Apple just popped up an offer for Safari 3.1, with the pitch:

“Safari for Windows is the fastest and easiest-to-use web browser for the PC. It displays web pages faster than any other browser and is filled with innovative features — all delivered in an efficient and elegant user interface.

For more information on Safari 3.1, please visit http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=307467

Apple, if you are listening, STOP DOING THIS! I don’t want to have to opt out of getting new software to download, if you want to offer new software, make me opt IN! Even Microsoft has stopped using this style of tactics recently, for Microsoft‘s last Microsoft Update, they wanted me to download their Silverlight software, but it was offered in with a whole bunch of other downloads… the difference with Silverlight though, if I wanted to download it, I would have had to check the box to opt into the download.

Now, I have NO inclination to even TRY Safari! If Apple was a computer company with a larger market share, this type of tactic would get Apple in a LOT of trouble with anti-competitive tactics.

Thanks to All Things New for the above pic AND the similar feelings on the issue that I read after I wrote this, looking for a good photo to use for this post. Also, check out this HILARIOUS article from The Register, which maintains that Apple‘s own Safari License Agreement does not allow you to legally install Safari on a non-Apple-labeled (ie: Windows) machine, when I read it, I made sure to read the Safari 3.1 for Windows License Agreement for myself and verified that this was STILL the case! I LOVE it!

Dany

March 26, 2008 10:37 pm - Posted by | apple, software, technology, Windows

7 Comments »

  1. Safari browser when I tried it actually turned out to be not that great really. Its user interface is not friendly and as comfortable as that of firefox or even maxthon2 browser. And I did not notice any significant improvement in speed either. There is a lot of hype about Safari browser but in reality it is no match to even IE.

    Comment by Windows PC user | March 27, 2008 3:58 am

  2. Thanks for the heads up. Just out of curiosity, are you running Windows XP or Vista?

    Comment by master1228 | March 27, 2008 7:21 am

  3. This may seem frustrating but in truth it’s a good idea. If you wanted people to use your internet browser over more popular internet browsers (IE and Firefox) then that’s exactly what anyone would do. The thing is though, some people can’t put two and two together to get four. Meaning that this sales pitch is working for them or else they would have gotten rid of it. Microsoft isn’t using this tactic because the Windows users that are smart enough to update their systems are smart enough to ignore the message.

    Comment by iPC | March 28, 2008 5:36 am

  4. Amen brother.
    Just had the same thoughts about the same “update”.

    Comment by natebrown | March 28, 2008 9:00 am

  5. You can get around that by check the software update, and the going to I think. http://www.apple.com/dowloads and then download the individual compents there.

    -I hope this helps.

    Comment by froggie901 | March 28, 2008 4:02 pm

  6. Here, here!

    I make a similar cry in a recent blog post.

    The SilverLight thing really jerked my chain also.

    This actually makes me want to stop using all of the Apple software on my Windows machine. I can replace QuickTime with QuickTime Alternative. Just need to axe iTunes and they can piss-off.

    Comment by James | April 3, 2008 4:19 pm

  7. If this is all you have to piss and moan about, you have a much larger problem than Apple could resolve by not marketing their various products. Just go to “Software Update”, open “Preferences”, and uncheck “Check for updates”

    Comment by John | January 29, 2010 3:18 pm


Leave a Reply

