RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Juno

After leaving Juno, yes, I know this is a really late review of Juno, but I had intended on seeing it at least 3 times previously with plans falling through, anyway let me start over.

After watching Juno, I realized that this was probably one of the most enjoyable movies I’ve seen from 2007. When I first heard of the movie, I wanted to see it, but after it was actually released and I heard about its RAVE reviews, I’ve been hoping that once I actually got to see the film that it would be able to live up to the ever rising expectations that were building in my mind. Well, the movie did not disappoint. Ellen Page‘s performance in the title role makes me want to go back and see her previous film Hard Candy, a film whose trailer made me want to avoid the film like the plague.

The casting of the adult characters was also great. Juno‘s parents, played by Allison Janney and J.K. Simmons (who actually gets the best line of the entire film, I won’t ruin it for those who haven’t seen it, but it has to do with Bleeker‘s wiener) as well as Jason Bateman and Jennifer Garner, especially since I thought these last two were JUST going to be quirky characters. I also liked how the burger phone, that is getting a lot of press is owned by two of the important characters, which is given away in a throwaway scene, but means so much for the characters.

I wasn’t a huge fan of the teenage slang that was used in the film, (ex: wizard and shiz) but I had the same problem with Superbad, the difference though, was that this was pretty much my only problem with the film.

If you’re one of the few who haven’t already seen the film, GO NOW.

Thanks to Wild About Movies for the poster.

Dany

January 11, 2008 9:12 pm - Posted by | movie reviews, movies

1 Comment »

  1. […] After loving the movie Juno, finding this movie trailer spoof called Jewno, just made me laugh. I can’t believe they got J.K. Simmons to help with this, he’s one of my favorite niche actors. Also, the 92nd st Y mug was a nice touch. […]

    Pingback by Jewno « RaaD Technology, Movies & News | May 27, 2008 11:52 pm


Leave a Reply

