RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Walk Hard Really Just Flops and Plods

I was really excited about Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story, I love John C. Reilly, but while watching this movie, I realized that this movie was a huge flop and that I wished I hadn’t even sat down to see this movie.
I VEHEMENTLY recommend: DO NOT SEE THIS MOVIE, I don’t care how excited you are about it, just DON’T! If you aren’t going to listen to me anyway about this, at least wait til it gets to DVD and rent it, but I can’t even recommend that!
Judd Apatow co-wrote this with the film’s writer/director Jake Kasdan and as I’ve said before, I think Apatow‘s work has gone down over time instead of improved with experience. This movie, an attempt at parodying musical biopics (like Ray and Walk the Line), works for maybe the first five to ten minutes, after that, it all seems to go downhill. Bringing the Superbad kid, Jonah Hill into the film as an older, more vulgar ghost was just one of the ideas that flat out didn’t work in this movie.
Seeing all the cameos in the the trailer for this film got me excited and the movie features tons of sketch comedy familiar faces from SNL, 30 Rock and The Office. Too bad I didn’t find the few and far between funny scenes worth wading through all the unfunny content though.
It’s such a shame, I hate giving bad reviews, but hopefully this will prevent others from making the same mistake I made.
Thanks to Buzz Sugar for the above pic.
Dany
December 23, 2007 6:32 pm - Posted by | clips, commercials, dvd, movie reviews, movies, music, tv

2 Comments »

  1. I have to disagree. Maybe it’s a generation gap. I lived through all the parodied entertainers and loved their portrayals. It kept interested the entire time to try and figure out who would be next up for skewering.

    Reilly has a killer voice and the lyrics are hysterical.

    I would suggest going to this movie and then coming back here and adding your opinion.

    How many times have you gone to after it got a bad review only to find out that it was really a good movie? How many cult classics were panned?

    Make-up your own mind.

    Comment by Elizabeth | December 24, 2007 3:41 pm

  2. Great movie. I’m really dissapointed its not doing so well in sales though, likely because it was aimed at a younger audience who likely hasn’t been exposed to early rock n roll.

    Highly reccommended to oldies rock fans.

    Comment by Landry | January 31, 2008 8:18 pm


Leave a Reply

