RaaD Movies, News and Technology

Dany's RaaD Roundup

Eastern Promises hurts in a good way

I went into this movie with such high expectations after the last collaboration between David Cronenberg and Viggo Mortensen (A History of Violence) and watching the trailer. I wondered though, if all that excitement I was bringing with me would ruin my experience with this movie, in the event it wasn’t up to my expectations.

Now that I’ve seen the film, I can’t wait to buy the film on DVD! The movie shows a side of London that isn’t really talked about. This isn’t the touristy or historical London, us Americans are used to seeing. Instead it is a dirty and dangerous view that feels like only locals would be familiar with.

I don’t really know who I would be able to recommend this movie to though, maybe someone who saw A History of Violence and thought it needed more violence? This movie has some of the most viciously brutal hand-to-hand fight scenes, sometimes making you cringe and other times being so brutal, you need to either laugh or get sick (I’d recommend laughing though). Naomi Watts and Vincent Cassel support Mortensen‘s strong performance quite nicely too. I was not sure Cassel would be able to do this, just about the only movie I thought he was good in was Irréversible, but that too was another movie I enjoyed immensely, but would also hesitate to recommend, due to the sheer violence visualized on screen in that movie.

Thanks to imdb for the poster picture.

Dany

September 25, 2007 1:02 am - Posted by | dvd, movie reviews, movies

1 Comment »

  1. […] former NYC mayor Ed Koch (who WAS mayor of NYC in 1988)! It was interesting seeing this film after Eastern Promises, since that film revealed to me the importance of tatoos for the Russian […]

    Pingback by We Own the Night « RaaD Technology, Movies & News | October 21, 2007 5:58 am


Leave a Reply

